Posted in Android, Gadgets, iPhone, Phones

Bit the Apple. I’m hypnotized.

Ever heard of the story of Snow White. She was tricked by an evil witch into eating a poisoned apple and she was hypnotized after just one bite.snow white

 

Well, in this story I’m Snow White. The apple I bit into came into existence thanks to Mr. Steve Jobs. Why did I bite of it? It looked like it deserved a bite and I’d resisted it for far too long.

A bit of a back story to set context to this :

I’d been an Android user since the Nexus One launched. It didn’t launch in India so my closest bet to it was the HTC Desire. I loved having a phone that allowed me too feel like I had a computer within my hands. Sure the iPhone had been around all that while too but it just always seemed too much out of reach and well, sour grapes.

What I loved about everything Android:

  • Being able to customize every single thing
  • feeling like a secret developer without even a degree
  • rooting it, bricking it, fixing it

The reverse of this was everything that the iPhone offered. So of course I hated it. Since 2010 until now, I’ve used mostly the Nexus to always play with the pure Google experience. My last phone was the Nexus 5 and we’ve been a Nexus family for a while now. The life of these phones would be the average two years after which they’d start to give trouble in one form or another. As long as it was software it was always self repairable, which was always the fun of having an Android phone that allowed you to play with it so much. But once the hardware problems kicked in, the best bet was to just sell it for the best price you could get in exchange for another.

But my thoughts started to drift off to the Apple world way before my Nexus 5 died on me.

It all started in Jan 2015, when the company I worked at had all of their work done on iMacs. I hated the thought of trying to figure my way into a Mac after having used windows forever, but I thought I’d give it a shot – since Apple was known to simplify everything this couldn’t be so hard. I was right, it wasn’t. In fact I got so used to it, I hated using my windows laptop at home. The smoothness, the natural mouse movements, the machine would never hang, quick start-up and shut downs, everything was great.

I knew my next laptop would be a Macbook something. I just could not use a windows laptop anymore. But my phone, I knew would always be an Android. I had advocated it too much to have to move now. I’d just look stupid. The same year my entire family moved from being Android users to being iPhone users thanks to the very popular iPhone 6 which was also their best-selling phone.

With the phone around me so much, I had a chance to play with it even more. Also since the phone was being used by former Android users (talking about my family here), they had to have all of the Google apps that they were used to. Playing with the Google apps on the iPhone is what was my turning point. The Google search app, Chrome, Hangouts everything was unbelievably smooth. So smooth that you’d think they were made for the iPhone more than the Android. Being an Android fan girl, this revelation hit me hard. I just couldn’t understand why in the world, Google would allow their apps to look better on an iPhone which was their biggest competitor. I get that Android is fragmented and all of that, but even on a Nexus that offers the pure Google experience the performance of Google apps doesn’t equal how smooth it is on an iPhone.

While this thought ate into my loyalty towards Android, other little things that earlier never bothered me – now started to really get on my nerves. On a holiday when I needed my camera the most, I experienced a major hang that didn’t allow me to click pics when I wanted. Random phone restarts were another very annoying issue. Many other such random issues added on and then last of all was when my power button died on me and led to my phone going dead. This was the issue with my Nexus 5. While trying to get my phone repaired I dabbled with the thought of whether I wanted to now fix this and get this exchanged for a Nexus 6p or an iPhone 6s. I just had to weigh out the pros and the cons.

The Nexus 6p was their first full metal bodied phone and it ran Marshmallow. I ran Marshmallow too so nothing exceptionally new would happen on this phone that I hadn’t seen. Also, there was no way I could predict no software bugs – that was always normal with the Androids.

The iPhone 6s would be my first shot at trying out an iPhone. After trying the iMac and getting used to it so easily + after seeing how smooth apps were on my sisters iPhone 6, I was itching to bite of the apple. It seemed to be the most trustworthy phone, the more reliable of the two.

So…. I chose the iPhone 6s in space grey. Here’s the verdict from an Android fan girl.

iphone6s

The phone is definitely worth everything It’s price. It is an early birthday present from my husband. Yay!! After paying a bomb for a phone, you want it to work when you want it to work. It’s butter smooth and I don’t miss Android too much. I got used to it sooner than I thought.

Few things I miss though:

  • the notification light
  • Swype’s additional features – although with how awesome the iPhone keyboard is, it’s easier to type than to Swype anyway.
  • Google Now!!! I miss this.
  • Being able to track my data usage easier. My bills seem to be going through the roof. I don’t even understand why data gets used up so fast.
  • the back button! although i have found a way around it.

The iPhone is not all perfect. There are some issues too. The #1 issue being a shocker but I did experience a camera bug. When the camera hung just when I wanted to click a picture. That annoyed me so bad!! But that’s happened just once so I ain’t going to judge. Other bugs I’ve seen are on the Swype keyboard and once on the twitter app. But I can forgive these cos they are 3rd party apps that do not belong to apple.

Overall not too much to complain, but here’s what I think.

Apple although the more expensive phone is the phone for the masses. It’s easy to use and simple to understand with a very intuitive UI. It’s a phone you take out of the box and use. It is the perfect replacement to the reliable Nokia’s of the past.

Android on the other hand, is not a phone for the masses. It has become a mass phone only cos the price and the range of phones available, but I will always maintain the Android belongs to the geeks. They can root it, play with ROMs, kernels, customize it to look like they want it too and that’s what Android is about. It’s for them who see software bugs and take them up as a challenge to fix them rather than get bugged with them because every software issue can be fixed.

Do I hate Android now? No. I still love Android for making me feel smart and like I have magic in my hands with being able to root it and do fun stuff with it but it’s just not the phone for me now. I chose the iPhone for the need of a reliable phone. But I’d say they are both great in their own place. They are not competitors, they cater to two very different audiences – I just hope they realize it.

As for me, I can’t wait to get my Macbook next 😛

Author:

I do not really know what to write in these about me spaces esp since I haven't really figured myself out. (Ref my 2nd Blog Post) Hmmm... I love to sleep - my fave pass time.. my family calls me sleeping beauty I love animals (note: creepy crawlies not included) I watch a lotta cartoons on Disney Channel my fave being Kim Possible, Phineas & Ferb, Scooby Doo, Johnny Bravo.. I like to write when I'm sad or happy.. Lightens the mood when I've poured it all out on paper or computer :p I do not believe in religion but believe in a relationship with Jesus.. I like shopping for shoes more than clothes This isn't all of me but yea it should do.

2 thoughts on “Bit the Apple. I’m hypnotized.

    1. I agree no comparison. I’ve said that too. I’m still an android fan girl and cos they can’t be compared I realise how that I can be an apple fan girl as well.

Leave a Reply

