Posted in Random

What influences you?

Society and people are influenced by so many factors. Circumstances, people, pressure, money, religion are some of the common factors that influence people and their actions. But once the action is done, no one cares to listen to the cause or the trigger. You are then labelled or identified by your actions with a consequence that you must bear as well.

An example of this are these stories of Indrani Mukherjea’s life being exposed which sure has brought out skeletons in the closet of the rich and famous and has definitely tainted the heart and nature of a mother. She’s been labeled as a mother without a heart, as a disgrace for her actions.

Another such case is the one of Aarushi, where again the parents are blamed for the death of the daughter. This case has not been solved yet, but from what we know and understand everything right now points right back to the parents as much as none of us would want to believe the story that has been weaved so far.

Why are there so many such cases? Why are parents killing their children? Is it money? The society? Family status? We might know as these cases unfold or we might never know. But as they unfold, we have people comment and label these people with filth, which of course they deserve.

The last comment I heard was someone say, “How can a mother do such a thing? It’s not possible for a mother to do this. Maybe they’ll realize that in the end that wasn’t her mother after all” (With context to the Indrani Mukerjea case). This person, refused to accept that the heart of a mother or a parent would allow the killing of it’s own child.

Here’s putting Indrani Mukherjea’s case into perspective with a story I’ve heard.

Disclaimer: I know there are different versions to this but here’s the version I know (in short). The basic story stays the same.

In Hindu mythology is a story about the gods Shiva and Parvati. They have a son named Ganesha. One day when Parvati was bathing, she asked Ganesh to guard to the door. When Shiva asked for permission to go in with Parvati, Ganesh refused – enraging Shiva so much that he severed the head of his son out of jealousy and rage. When Shiva realized how much this angered his wife Parvati, he ordered for the head of the first creature from the forest. The first head that was found was that of the elephant which was then fixed on the head of his son – who people today worship as Ganpati.

Blind beliefs as such are what verify peoples actions to doing what they think is right for their circumstances. So much so that they would go to the extend of saying that this is what God wants out of their situation. No one thought that story was weird when they heard it, yet people are quick to judge Indrani.

Recently in conversation with a friend, she mentioned how she is an atheist. I spoke about my beliefs as well to which she replied saying, “Oh here’s a story on my god! This was a conversation that began at atheism which quickly changed when this friend realized that I was open to talking about God. And that’s the influence of society for you!!!

Anyhow, coming back to this conversation. She went on to say, “My god is a cassanova. He was known always with his mistress’ name but never his wife’s. I think that is super cool.” I was taken by surprise. This to me meant that this person was totally cool with adultery right? But no, a few weeks later she spoke to me about how the movie Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna was so lame because of what it portrayed and how she was against the whole idea of cheating especially in marriage. How much she hated Karan Johar for making a movie like that, and how she now cannot even stand to hear the songs of that movie anymore since she learnt the storyline.

Which brings me back to my topic : Seriously people, WHAT influences you!?

How can you be blind when you think its a god doing things, but so judgemental when people around you do that same? Can someone around here use their minds to think and weigh things out before they blindly believe?

Note: I do not support Indrani’s actions nor am I against any religion, beliefs or god. My blog is purely my opinions on this subject. 

 

Author:

I do not really know what to write in these about me spaces esp since I haven't really figured myself out. (Ref my 2nd Blog Post) Hmmm... I love to sleep - my fave pass time.. my family calls me sleeping beauty I love animals (note: creepy crawlies not included) I watch a lotta cartoons on Disney Channel my fave being Kim Possible, Phineas & Ferb, Scooby Doo, Johnny Bravo.. I like to write when I'm sad or happy.. Lightens the mood when I've poured it all out on paper or computer :p I do not believe in religion but believe in a relationship with Jesus.. I like shopping for shoes more than clothes This isn't all of me but yea it should do.

Leave a Reply

