Posted in ME, Random

The Proverbs 31 Woman

Have you ever wondered when you read Proverbs 31 if you were meant to be this woman in today’s day and age?
What about feminism? What does the man do? What about equality of man and woman? What about all of those things?
And if Proverbs 31 does apply, what does it mean for me? Can I ever be that person? Am I expected to do it all? Am I even a woman yet, or am I still a girl?

An attempt to be the Proverbs 31 Woman

Every time I have read this chapter I have felt guilty, convicted of not being this woman and thinking that I never ever will be this woman.

The Wife of Noble Character

10 It is hard to find a good wife, (I think this is true for husband too right?)
    because she is worth more than rubies.

I’m definitely not this woman who is being compared to a jewel. I’m ugly to even look at.

11 Her husband trusts her completely.
    With her, he has everything he needs.

I don’t know if my husband trusts me completely.  But I do try to win it over. But I do believe he has everything he needs with me 🙂

12 She does him good and not harm
    for as long as she lives.

This is true for sure. I love him, I’d never cause him any harm.

13 She looks for wool and flax
    and likes to work with her hands.
14 She is like a trader’s ship,
    bringing food from far away. 

N/A to us right?

15 She gets up while it is still dark
    and prepares food for her family
    and feeds her servant girls.

I’m not a morning person at all & my husband is. So he does breakfast in the morning and that’s the arrangement we’re comfortable with.

16 She inspects a field and buys it.
    With money she earned, she plants a vineyard.

N/A again.

17 She does her work with energy,
    and her arms are strong.
18 She knows that what she makes is good.
    Her lamp burns late into the night.

I go to work, don’t need too much energy at the desk job I’m doing. I’m not sure what I’ve ever made is good until someone tells me so.

19 She makes thread with her hands
    and weaves her own cloth.
20 She welcomes the poor
    and helps the needy.

I do none of these. I’m a horrible person!!! 😦

21 She does not worry about her family when it snows,
    because they all have fine clothes to keep them warm.
22 She makes coverings for herself;
    her clothes are made of linen and other expensive material.

Does shopping for expensive clothes count?  I do some of that!

23 Her husband is known at the city meetings,
    where he makes decisions as one of the leaders of the land.
24 She makes linen clothes and sells them
    and provides belts to the merchants.

Again does not apply to me.

25 She is strong and is respected by the people.
    She looks forward to the future with joy.
26 She speaks wise words
    and teaches others to be kind.

I want to be this woman. I hope I am or will be.

27 She watches over her family
    and never wastes her time.
28 Her children speak well of her.
    Her husband also praises her,
29 saying, “There are many fine women,
    but you are better than all of them.”

This my husband says 🙂 I think he just biased though. I don’t believe it’s true.

30 Charm can fool you, and beauty can trick you,
    but a woman who respects the Lord should be praised.
31 Give her the reward she has earned;
    she should be praised in public for what she has done.

I want this!

I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who feels horrible after reading this chapter of not being able to fit this perfect mould of a wife. But I do hope I can fit at least a little bit into this mould if not a 100%.

If there are more women like me, I think the only way that we can get here will be through God’s help and our willingness to be this person for our husbands. I encourage all of you who have read till here to now pray this prayer with me 🙂

Lord Jesus, I want to be this woman you want me to be. I know that you have put the ability in me to be this woman and I do not even know that I am capable of it. Help me see in me, what you can see me & be this woman that you can see me becoming. Give me the patience I need around myself, my husband and others. Help me draw from your strength to in turn become this strong woman you want me to be. Thank you Lord for giving me the ability to achieve this through you. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

Please comment in the space below and tell me what you think of my thoughts against each of the points on Proverbs 31. I’m happy to take correction too. 🙂

Author:

I do not really know what to write in these about me spaces esp since I haven't really figured myself out. (Ref my 2nd Blog Post) Hmmm... I love to sleep - my fave pass time.. my family calls me sleeping beauty I love animals (note: creepy crawlies not included) I watch a lotta cartoons on Disney Channel my fave being Kim Possible, Phineas & Ferb, Scooby Doo, Johnny Bravo.. I like to write when I'm sad or happy.. Lightens the mood when I've poured it all out on paper or computer :p I do not believe in religion but believe in a relationship with Jesus.. I like shopping for shoes more than clothes This isn't all of me but yea it should do.

Leave a Reply

