Posted in Books, Reviews

Book review – The House that Love Built

The House that Love Built is a beautiful story about God’s unusual and unexpected plans for each of us. It’s a story about love, forgiveness, trust in His Word.

Cover Image: The House that Love Built

Brooke Holloway is a young widow hopelessly in love with her late husband & refusing to let go of her life with him. She raises two kids  after the death of her husband by running the family hardware store. All she wants to do with herself is continue her life, keep God & her kids at the center of it without ever thinking about replacing her husband or falling in love. In her opinion, even so much as looking at another man was committing adultery.

Owen Saunders was a guy who moved in from the big city to Smithville. He’d just gotten out of  a failed marriage leaving everything he’d ever known behind with it. He intended to start afresh but everything he was doing in this new town, was subconsciously to spite his ex-wife.

Both Brooke & Owen were healing of their experiences in the previous phases of their life. This book goes on to tell us how God knows the beginning from the end, & has everything in control only if we allow it. Brooke & Owen may not have had the ideal situation for marriage, considering it second marriages for both of them – but God had a plan even in all of that.

Beth Wiseman beautifully shows the importance of how we need to let go of a few things we have in the plans for life to make room for God’s bigger plans. After much resistance to God’s plan, this book shows how the main characters of the book, embrace God’s plan into their lives & experience abundance and fullness of life in ways they probably had never imagined for themselves.

Would I recommend the book?

I would for a light read with subtle emphasis on the importance of faith with real life experiences & examples. Would definitely make a good gift for a book lover too.

This review is also posted here & is part of a book review program by BookSneeze

Author:

I do not really know what to write in these about me spaces esp since I haven't really figured myself out. (Ref my 2nd Blog Post) Hmmm... I love to sleep - my fave pass time.. my family calls me sleeping beauty I love animals (note: creepy crawlies not included) I watch a lotta cartoons on Disney Channel my fave being Kim Possible, Phineas & Ferb, Scooby Doo, Johnny Bravo.. I like to write when I'm sad or happy.. Lightens the mood when I've poured it all out on paper or computer :p I do not believe in religion but believe in a relationship with Jesus.. I like shopping for shoes more than clothes This isn't all of me but yea it should do.

Leave a Reply

