Posted in Acne, ME

Dove says, “#WeAreBeautiful”

Right until the Dove Real Beauty Sketches video that made headlines about a week ago, I thought I was the only woman who thought the compliments that people gave me were just feel good / polite. So much that even when the fiancé said nice stuff, I’d disregard it thinking that this is just because he is in love with me.

I always thought that when people looked at me they saw abnormally huge smile I have that I’m so conscious of when clicking pictures, the red pimples that leave me looking like Rudolph, the acne marks that make me think I’m a leopard, my chinki eyes and a face that is disproportionately fatter than the rest of my body.

But when I did a little experiment with a buddy who hadn’t seen me in a while, this was how she described me from memory.

“You are fair-skinned with a small chin. You have thick lips which is probably the reason your chin looks small. You have nice small eyes without high cheekbones. Your eyebrows are small & define your facial expressions. Your nose is not a very big nose but nice small little nose that goes with the rest of the smallness. When you smile it’s a full on smile from one ear to the next that lights up your face. You have dark brown, wavy healthy hair that contributes majorly to the way you look defining & bringing your face. Overall you look like a small petite person”

I noticed from the description that my friend gave me that she didn’t even mention the acne marks that I thought all this time defined me, the way I look & my personality. I always thought that if people ever had to describe me they would describe me as the short skinny girl with acne marks all over her face.

Honestly, writing a post like this about myself, leaves me feeling a little awkward too, but I’m glad I watched this video to remind me that to not be so critical of myself & dare to do the little experiment myself with a friend.

The Dove Beauty Sketches video, allowed me to dedicate a blog post to myself. It made me realize that truly I am better looking that I think. I still have to get to a place though where I can look at myself and use the word ‘Beautiful’, but Dove has definitely tapped into the inner-most, darkest parts of every woman’s self-esteem (including mine) with this video.

This is why the Dove Beauty Sketches video connected so deeply with me. Beauty truly is in the eyes of the beholder & the beholder sees less of the flaws that you see everyday & more of your personality come through in the way that you look.

This video has gone beyond the brand, beyond a company, beyond even an agency. This video has connected with humanity, with every woman and represented what every woman stands for.
.¸¸.✻ღϠ₡ღ✻
(¯`✻´¯) GYAK ღ
`*.¸.*✻ღϠ₡ღ¸.✻´´¯`✻.¸¸.♥ •.¸¸. ƸӜƷ¸¸.✻ღ

Author:

I do not really know what to write in these about me spaces esp since I haven't really figured myself out. (Ref my 2nd Blog Post) Hmmm... I love to sleep - my fave pass time.. my family calls me sleeping beauty I love animals (note: creepy crawlies not included) I watch a lotta cartoons on Disney Channel my fave being Kim Possible, Phineas & Ferb, Scooby Doo, Johnny Bravo.. I like to write when I'm sad or happy.. Lightens the mood when I've poured it all out on paper or computer :p I do not believe in religion but believe in a relationship with Jesus.. I like shopping for shoes more than clothes This isn't all of me but yea it should do.

Leave a Reply

