Posted in Random

#SmallJoys

I was late. I’d reached the office building at 9.45 sharp & there was no way I could get to the swipe machine in time to swipe for 9.45 am anyway. On my way in, I saw a driver in his car, struggling to fit into the parking space he had found for himself. As I walked towards the car, I noticed the car go forward & reverse a few times with no success at parking the vehicle at all.

I looked at my watch. It was 9.46 am. I thought I was late anyway, so I stood there & helped him park with signs to direct him into the slot. The passenger with him in the car looked at me & said thank you with a huge smile. I said thank you, waved & made my way towards the entrance of the office. That’s when I thought of #smalljoys as a post.

In our busy lives, how many times do we take the time to smile at someone? Offer an elderly person help? Say hi to a dog on the road? Give sweets to a beggar kid instead of money that will never be his? Admired a butterfly? The sound of the birds? A new flower or a fruit in the garden?

Why? because life is about the smaller things that we do. It’s not about waking up everyday to go to work & just make money enough for you to spend. It’s also about making the world a better place for people around you.

The world needs people who can be  the salt and the light of this earth. We need to bring brightness & flavor to people’s lives through these attributes in us.

This is one of my New Year’s resolution for 2013 as well – to smile away the sorrows for the year. I choose to begin doing this now. To offer to help out with favors  smile at the guards at the entrance of the office gate, smile at the peons & the maids in the office to show appreciation for the work they do, give the chef in the canteen a ‘thumbs up’ for food well cooked, smile at a kid on the road – so he can look a stranger and know they can be nice strangers too.

Helping random people find their #SmallJoys, will help me find mine. Perfect barter of emotions in my opinion. Here’s a #SmallJoys picture to conclude with for the blog.

#SmallJoys from a pup

I entered work that day at 10.15 am by the time I got the lift to the 14th floor & swiped in. But I started my day with a smile. A smile because someone else had a reason to smile ’cause of me 🙂

Author:

I do not really know what to write in these about me spaces esp since I haven't really figured myself out. (Ref my 2nd Blog Post) Hmmm... I love to sleep - my fave pass time.. my family calls me sleeping beauty I love animals (note: creepy crawlies not included) I watch a lotta cartoons on Disney Channel my fave being Kim Possible, Phineas & Ferb, Scooby Doo, Johnny Bravo.. I like to write when I'm sad or happy.. Lightens the mood when I've poured it all out on paper or computer :p I do not believe in religion but believe in a relationship with Jesus.. I like shopping for shoes more than clothes This isn't all of me but yea it should do.

One thought on “#SmallJoys

  1. Small and big is all in the mind 🙂 I believe that in a world so full of so much unhappiness , if we can put one smile a day on some one’s face it is huge !! Actually what follows is a chain re action ….The person on whose face we put a smile on will then “pay it forward ” to the next person………. .Cos like it or not everyone of us has that mushy mushy stuff in us that responds to any kindness and then cos its such a great feeling we don’t want it to end …so we begin the chain reaction .
    Then of course I also believe in things coming full circle 🙂 (Call me an optimist ) Before you know it … some one is putting your own smile back on your face 🙂

Leave a Reply

