Posted in Random

The so-called ‘Bombay Spirit’

Bombay – the city of dreams – but is it really?

Bombay probably is every Indian’s dream city to live in, to work in, to make a life, earn a living, get famous. It is the starry-eyed city to most who do not live here & aspire to move here. But what happens to the Bombay-ites (oops.. sorry Shiv Sena, I meant Mumbaikars)

Bombay Sky View

A glimpse into the average life of a Bombayite, will tell you that life is not starry-eyed at all, no dream at all. Working in Bombay would probably get most people fatter salaries  than any other city in India, but with complete paisa-vasool & no time to spend any of the money you earn. Besides slogging butts at work, Bombay-ites have to go through a whole lot of traffic jams traveling to any part of Bombay from any part – of course the drive, richshaw ride or even the train journey turns to be much of a roller coaster ride, but not an enjoyable one for sure.

Example of Bombay’s plights:

On a day like 26/7 (the day of the flood): Bombay was crippled with all of the flooding that MET (as usual) would have not predicted, bad planning of the city adds to the water-logging problems. The result: people stranded or drowned in the floods, deaths, flooded homes, people left homeless, dead animals & broken down vehicles. The phone lines were jammed, there were no rescue missions, electricity died across the city, zero access around the city, the city had finally fallen asleep, although more like a nap really. Our government & BMC from here only made big promises of how sorry they were for the trouble to the residents of Bombay during the disasters and promised to make sure this is never repeated the following year.

On a day like 26/11 (Bombay’s terror attacks): inspite of repeated warnings to guard the coast there were no security measures taken, our policemen were equipped with merely lathis & guns that stood no chance against the terrorists powerful rifles, people & our brave policemen lost their lives. The only victory : the terror ended 2 days later with one terrorist caught.

Every time, Bombay goes through an episode of the sort: citizens are promised no end by the Government & every other powerful body that there will be no repeat of the same. Citizens choose to trust in them for there is no choice but to & THIS, is what the world calls ‘Bombay Spirit?”

Bombay has no choice but to adorn a spirit of bravery & bouncing right back to normal. After all, Bombay doesn’t sleep right?

People here don’t live lives but run a race that they all know they’ll never win. Working over 8 hours is as normal as it could get, not seeing your family is considered normal, traffic jams are normal, noise is normal, pollution is normal, no security for women is normal, FLOODS are normal & so are TERROR ATTACKS and BOMB blasts.

If this is what the world calls Bombay’s Spirit, I’m sure it’s nothing any resident of any other city should wish for. It’s what I call Bombay’s Plague.

(This post featured in the DNA on 22nd Oct, 2012)

Author:

I do not really know what to write in these about me spaces esp since I haven't really figured myself out. (Ref my 2nd Blog Post) Hmmm... I love to sleep - my fave pass time.. my family calls me sleeping beauty I love animals (note: creepy crawlies not included) I watch a lotta cartoons on Disney Channel my fave being Kim Possible, Phineas & Ferb, Scooby Doo, Johnny Bravo.. I like to write when I'm sad or happy.. Lightens the mood when I've poured it all out on paper or computer :p I do not believe in religion but believe in a relationship with Jesus.. I like shopping for shoes more than clothes This isn't all of me but yea it should do.

Leave a Reply

