Posted in God, Jesus

Religion? I don’t believe in that!

Here’s a post that is inspired because of the awkward situation that I am continually in, which ends up me leaving people awkward as well.

A lot of people this year have invited me to come over to celebrate Diwali. Why don’t I celebrate other festivals except those that involve Jesus, well here goes.

I believe in a gospel that imparts love, that is backed up by science and history. Am I Christian? No. Do I believe in religion? No. On the contrary, I am a follower of Christ. I believe not in religion but a relationship. Is this possible? Sure it is! God is our Father. If you can have a relationship with your earthly father, why not your Heavenly Father?

To continue: I would wish to ask reader’s a question, those who believe in God, as well as those who do not.
If you were to die today, do you know where you would go? Or is that something that you are working on everyday to achieve, or have you stopped working on it and have decided hell is going to be fun? Or is that something you want to drive towards when you are old and are done having the fun of your youth?

Man:

Do you know that we are all born sinners? Sure we are! We sin everyday. If not in deed, then in thought. You lose your temper, tell small lies, think evil of people in our heads. And this happens everyday, without even knowing. If we sin everyday can you imagine how much sin you have committed by the end of your life, even if you ain’t a murderer or a thief?
Do you think God does not know that – Of course he does. So wait! what does that mean? We all go to hell? Sure, we do! We cannot save ourselves by good deeds, or good works because no matter what we do, we cannot match God’s holiness. But…

Heaven:
Is a free Gift.
(Romans 6:23 says The reward for sin is death, but the gift that God freely gives is everlasting life found in Christ Jesus our Lord.)

It cannot be earned or deserved.
(Ephesians 2: 8-9 says God saved you through faith as an act of kindness. You had nothing to do with it. Being saved is a gift from God. It’s not the result of anything you’ve done, so no one can brag about it.
For example: When your friend gifts you something, if you offer to pay for it, you are offending your friend. Similarly by trying to earn your place in heaven, you are doing the same thing.

God:
God is merciful and therefore does not want to punish us.
1 John 4:8 says The person who doesn’t love doesn’t know God, because God is love.

But God is also just and therefore must punish sin.
Exodus 34: 7 says He continues to show his love to thousands of generations, forgiving wrongdoing, disobedience, and sin. He never lets the guilty go unpunished, punishing children and grandchildren for their parents’ sins to the third and fourth generation.

Christ:
Who is He? He is the God-Man, who came on to earth died on the cross to pay the price for our sins, so that we receive a place in heaven.
Why could He do it? Because He was the only pure sacrifice available for God, blameless and without sin. A sacrifice that would be pleasing to God & a permanent one.
Why couldn’t an animal be used instead like people did in the old days? An animal only poses as a temporary sacrifice which is why God gave us a permanent solution.

Faith:
IS the key to heaven.
What is Faith? Faith is not head knowledge about everything you just read.
James 2:19 says You believe that there is one God. That’s fine! The demons also believe that, and they tremble with fear

It is trusting in Jesus Christ alone for your eternal life and a place in heaven. All you have to do is believe and have FAITH in everything you just read. Believe that Jesus can do it for you.

This is what I believe in. The Gospel of Love, the Gospel of Jesus Christ, the Gospel of Life & of Truth.

No other God/Man has done this, which is why I do not participate in any dedications to them. I want that place to belong to Jesus Christ alone & worship only Him, acknowledging only what He has done for me.

Questions?

Author:

I do not really know what to write in these about me spaces esp since I haven't really figured myself out. (Ref my 2nd Blog Post) Hmmm... I love to sleep - my fave pass time.. my family calls me sleeping beauty I love animals (note: creepy crawlies not included) I watch a lotta cartoons on Disney Channel my fave being Kim Possible, Phineas & Ferb, Scooby Doo, Johnny Bravo.. I like to write when I'm sad or happy.. Lightens the mood when I've poured it all out on paper or computer :p I do not believe in religion but believe in a relationship with Jesus.. I like shopping for shoes more than clothes This isn't all of me but yea it should do.

4 thoughts on “Religion? I don’t believe in that!

  1. A most Lovely thought ! and yes I agree that if a God wants my worship He will jolly well better deserve it. So far there is only ONE Who qualifies 🙂 Jesus gets my every vote every single time 🙂 Amen !!!!

Comments are closed.