Posted in Random

Social Media Day

So today is Social Media Day. Don’t know what Social Media Day is?

Well, to begin with, it’s a day where social media enthusiasts all over the world meet-up in their cities to discuss Social Media, the use of it in their lives, how it has evolved into their lives, what sorta role it plays and its replacement for traditional media.

Although in my opinion, it seems like a perfect day considering the fact that I am a social media enthusiast myself (or should I say budding social media enthusiast), but would I need a day to celebrate the use of social media? For other people like me, we work on social media all the time! To talk of it as though it were a separate part of us, really IS where the challenge lies.

Honestly I live social media now! Everything I do, I tweet about, my Facebook profile page has everything on it that you may need to know about me (or that I think I want you to know about me), you can know exactly where in the world I am in the moment through foursquare, so really! Do I need a day to celebrate Social Media? Cos i really haven’t over-tweeted or stayed extra on my Facebook profile or checked into foursquare a few extra unusual times today.

Well, I’ll tell you what I need! I need a day when I can take a break and say today I shall not tweet anymore or visit my Facebook profile! That is a day celebrating Social Media for me!

PS.- Although I did think of attending the Mashable meet-up at Candies, Bandra. But alas, that did not happen either, but that would have gone well, considering I wanted a break from meeting-up with friends online and not face-to-face.

Come to think of it, was Mashable celebrating Social Media Day or were they going anti? Wouldn’t celebrating Social Media mean that they would have used Social Media to communicate? But infact they met the traditional face-to-face.. Hmmmmm.. Thoughts??

Anyhow, next year I’ll plan it better 🙂

Oh hey! this is my first post on Social Media.. Wooohooo.. 🙂 🙂

Author:

I do not really know what to write in these about me spaces esp since I haven't really figured myself out. (Ref my 2nd Blog Post) Hmmm... I love to sleep - my fave pass time.. my family calls me sleeping beauty I love animals (note: creepy crawlies not included) I watch a lotta cartoons on Disney Channel my fave being Kim Possible, Phineas & Ferb, Scooby Doo, Johnny Bravo.. I like to write when I'm sad or happy.. Lightens the mood when I've poured it all out on paper or computer :p I do not believe in religion but believe in a relationship with Jesus.. I like shopping for shoes more than clothes This isn't all of me but yea it should do.

3 thoughts on “Social Media Day

  1. GREAT POST!

    yeah, it is quite an oxymoron.. celebrate Social Media Day by meeting up in person and not using social media! hehe

    but @gyak, completely agree about needing a one day away from social media… i’ve noticed i don’t use my computer at home anymore because it just feels like work..

    have you noticed how cell phones are increasing the use of social media? i have a friend who is now active on twitter because of his new HTC phone.

  2. Hey i agree i have crossed 350 friends in facebook, have a healthy active account in orkut, thousands of people use my made social application/ websites So i think i can be called a complete SOCIAL FREAK.

    But hey my ideal way of celebrating SOCIAL MEDIA DAY would be taking words literally

    Get all my facebook friends and play kabbaddi,kho-ko, dog and bone.

    In real sense i wanna go social and really meet and goof up with them literally going SOCIAL

    1. that is just you being social thou? isnt it? what about celebrating social media??? shouldn’t you then be meeting them online??? 🙂 Debate???

Leave a Reply

