Posted in Work

My First Week At Work…….

So work’s been amazing since I started. I have a reason to wake up in the morning and a happy one because I’m enjoying this job. With the amount of work that I have assigned here even though it’s just the first few days since I started, I feel like the past year of work experience that I have really doesn’t count since I haven’t done HALF as much work in my previous job.
The first week I worked and wondered if there were any meetings that were ever conducted. All I had to do was ask which was yesterday and we had two meetings, one of which was my induction
(first thing said was – “There are no rules here”) & the other one was just work talk (where everyone talked so intelligent and I felt so dumb. But I realized later that there was huge scope for me to learn and talk intelligent like all of them someday.)

When I got a little time out of my really busy schedule at work, I went to get myself a cup of tea from the pantry which is connected into a tiny balcony area that overlooks a ground. The view I had wasn’t exactly the most beautiful view but I did see something that drew my attention. I could see an old man had walked into the ground with two stray dogs following him. When he’d finished his job on that ground he started to walk toward the gate of the ground. That’s when one of the two dogs spotted him walk out so he followed him. The man held the gate open for that one and locked the gate behind them. The second dog didn’t see this man walk out cause he was peeing in the bush and when he heard the gate close he went running towards it, hoping he would make it in time but Alas! The gate was now latched with no sign of getting out. He whined and tried to get out between the metal railings of the gate but he did not fit so he just sat by the gate and awaited his freedom.

I stood there on the second floor balcony of my office watching all of this. I had no idea how to get to that ground. I could see it but I did not know which road around my office area led to the ground where lonely whiny doggie was trapped. I went downstairs and trusted my instincts to take me in the direction of the ground. Luckily the ground was right besides my office building. So I ran to the ground found the dog told him I’ll get him out and to hang on. He backed up a bit to let me push open the very heavy gate (yes! Dogs understand when you talk to them.) I unlatched the gate let him out and he was so happy and so was his other friend the dog.

I saved a dog!! Yay!!! 🙂

But I bet the old man was wondering ‘Who let the dog out?’

Author:

I do not really know what to write in these about me spaces esp since I haven't really figured myself out. (Ref my 2nd Blog Post) Hmmm... I love to sleep - my fave pass time.. my family calls me sleeping beauty I love animals (note: creepy crawlies not included) I watch a lotta cartoons on Disney Channel my fave being Kim Possible, Phineas & Ferb, Scooby Doo, Johnny Bravo.. I like to write when I'm sad or happy.. Lightens the mood when I've poured it all out on paper or computer :p I do not believe in religion but believe in a relationship with Jesus.. I like shopping for shoes more than clothes This isn't all of me but yea it should do.

11 thoughts on “My First Week At Work…….

  1. I’m sure that talking to Oscar had nothing to do with that dog being saved. But let’s not tell him that. Kid’s a little too young to walk around with a bruised ego

    1. Thanks Achu Chechi!!! 🙂
      And Oscar.. When I thanked you for it you said, “But I didn’t do anything!!’ But ok since you want the acknowledge.. Everyone: I was talking to Oscar while I saved the dog!
      There!! you happy now??

Leave a Reply

