Posted in Random

The End of the Famine

There are phases in everyone’s life where you just want to quit being yourself because everything is such a mess. Nothing seems to be going your way. In fact there is no ‘your way’ so every other way is not yours. (If that makes any sense)

Dry Phase 1 is that gawky stage in school, when your face is so ugly, you have bunny teeth and everyday is a bad hair day. And that sure was a long ugly stage too..  where tales of the headless horseman don’t sound scary at all because that’s really your fantasy – of living without a head since everything neck above seems ‘not human’. (Yea I know… I exaggerate…) but then puberty ends and you’re magically transformed from the Ugly Duckling to a Beautiful Swan.

But that’s not the end of it. There’s Dry Phase 2 which is after college. For the past 20 years of you just obeying the education system of passing from Kindergarten to Primary School- Secondary School – College. In College year 1 to year 2 to year 3 to year 4 to year 5 & all of sudden it’s the end of that and your thrown out into the world and u got to decide what comes next. I went through that April 2008 after I finished my TYBMS university exams and I realized this summer vacation aint gonna be like the others because I’d rather I was in college than have this vacation because I had absolutely no direction on what I was to do with myself.

The thought of what I’m going to do with me for the rest of my life killed me. I just wanted to QUIT BEING ME, I wanted out, I wanted someone to think for me tell me what I’d enjoy doing, what I should study, what work I should do.

After a year and half of working in a field (I realized much later) I wasn’t interested in & after knowing Jesus’ authority in my life… I guess I have learnt that the only place that I will be happiest is when I stay in Him & in His plan for me. So I took the step of faith, quit doing what I wanted to do and decided to trust in Him. I trusted for Him to give me something that I’d enjoy doing so I prayed for three things:

 

 

  • A marketing job – not sales cause all I got was sales with the previous experience I had

 

 

  • A job close to home – cause travelling around Bombay is a pain!

 

 

  • A Saturday-Sunday off

 

 

  • Wearing casuals to work (which was a bonus criteria)

After waiting for a week (luckily it was Christmas week so I had my holidays) I got a call from Experience Commerce and I landed the job that filled all the criterias + the bonus criteria I’d asked for… That was when I was sure this was from God because there’s that peace of being in His will.

 

Finally! I can see some light at the end of this tunnel. Some direction to my career and the long dry patch of not knowing what to do with me i.e. the famine has ended. Phew! And boy was it a long famine! But the end’s well & it’s a relief to know God’s in control.

Bring on Dry Phase 3!

Author:

I do not really know what to write in these about me spaces esp since I haven't really figured myself out. (Ref my 2nd Blog Post) Hmmm... I love to sleep - my fave pass time.. my family calls me sleeping beauty I love animals (note: creepy crawlies not included) I watch a lotta cartoons on Disney Channel my fave being Kim Possible, Phineas & Ferb, Scooby Doo, Johnny Bravo.. I like to write when I'm sad or happy.. Lightens the mood when I've poured it all out on paper or computer :p I do not believe in religion but believe in a relationship with Jesus.. I like shopping for shoes more than clothes This isn't all of me but yea it should do.

Tagged:

9 thoughts on “The End of the Famine

Leave a Reply

